top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Veal

Vol. 3 Track 2 - "Just Us"

Updated: Sep 27, 2022

I took one family cruise a few years back to The Bahamas. That has been my only life impression of the Caribbean islands. After touching down on a runway that did not show itself until we had landed. I knew this beautiful place would never get old, no matter how long I stay! Being overwhelmed by the amount of strangers, unsure of which taxi service to utilize, let alone- where is school?



I was beyond grateful to have my parents with me for my first day, helping me to navigate roads I had never seen before and overpriced stores I had no idea existed.





Just Us - DJ Khaled ft. SZA "It's just us against the world, in this life of sin."

After figuring out safari rides, Kmart shops, and Mcdonalds stops, we figured we would need a rolling cart to carry my pillows, comforter set, laundry supplies, and bottles of water back to my dorm across town.


~ Room Makeover ~


Shout out to mom for continuing the tradition of helping set up my dorm room. She makes the bed perfect to me :)


 

The Rest of The Week ~


My first week consisted of way too many names for my brain to remember. I will definitely be asking for refreshers for the next couple of days😅 However, getting close with local students and other exchange students was engaging and it was nice to get a chance to understand how everyone from such different backgrounds and end goals all ended up here (at UVI), in the same place at the same time.


Seen below are pictures from my first couple of days here at UVI. We took an island tour, stopped at Drake's Seat and Mountain Top (1st and 3rd pictures going across). We had an event at Chicken and Bowling and I somehow managed to get a "private" safari ride.

Second row shows me walking back to room in a mom selfie and then goes into our New Student Convocation where Aiysha and I met the moko jumbis, or dancers and stilts.


Moko Jumbies have been in the Virgin Island’s cultural heritage for over 200 years and can be traced to Africa as far back as the 13th and 14th centuries. West Africans view a Moko Jumbie as a seeker, protector and that their tallness is symbolic to the power of God.


The last row shows the walk to Brewer's Bay from school, some town scenery I appreciated, and my favorite time of the day- meditation mornings.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page