top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Veal

Vol. 3 Track 6 -​ "hover like a GODDESS"

Updated: Oct 10, 2022



This week was somewhat mellow. With Tropical Storm Fiona passing by, I did a lot of staying in towards the end of the week. However, it was nice to be able to take a long run Tuesday morning. I was able to get a feel for how close things really were on the island. And realize that I can walk a lot more places than I thought.

The first picture is me at the Harbor of Charlotte Amalie. Right behind me if the Ron de Lugo Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse. According to Wikipedia, its named after the first Delegate from the United States Virgin Islands to the United States House of Representatives, Ron de Lugo. The third picture is a different view from the harbor and the last picture is off the waterfront at main street.

The second picture is a mural at an apartment complex right outside of Havensight.


P.s. 6 miles was my original goal, I ended up doing a total of 8.63. :)


The rest of the week I spent preparing for the hurricane and studying.


I bought a gallon of water, a flashlight, perishable snacks, and sat inside! Lol - I did what I could with what I had, and all was well. However, what is a tropical storm really like? I have no idea. Of course, I had to do some first-hand experimentation.



"You're like the ocean, comin' and goin' I wanna surf your waves to the shore And find what lies real deep inside I'll be the moon to your high tide"

~ Willow Smith, "​hover like a GODDESS"

<3 ~> Album coming out OCT 6!!!!!!<~ <3



Throughout the week, I was able to take note of changes in this tropical environment. I saw the fog falling off the mountain right outside my dorm room (the video). The second and third picture, the calm before the storm (Friday before Saturday/Sunday's storm), I watched the sunset at Brewers Bay. As you can see, my rain jacket was a travel necessity this week. As is it could start and stop raining at the drop of hat. But it was still the most beautiful week I've experienced here. The heavy winds, the trees moving within, the delicate touch of the rain droplets- it was a sight I will never forget.




These videos were the morning after the storm.


7 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page