top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Veal

Vol. 3 Track 8 - Floating

For the past few weeks, I've been skipping out on my blog. For a moment, I felt stuck. With this post, I am going to attempt to retrace my steps; to potentially see where I lost footing and discuss it with you all. Also, this post will catch us up through October, the song is still entitled "Floating" by Mac Miller. In this song, he describes his process of introspection and his journey struggling to obtain mental health. "Swimming" by Mac Miller symbolizes the act of persevering, self-reflection, and navigating the challenges that life presents, aligning with the metaphorical journey depicted in the concept of the circle.

'I was drowning, but now I'm swimming Through stressful waters to relief'

When we left off, I had just obtained my food handler's certificate. Right after that, I hit the ground running at work. I began serving, and quickly expanded to prepping, and my favorite title, baking. Going into October was full of exciting new experiences. I was advancing in my snorkeling class. Having not been able to swim before this class, I have made tremendous strides in just a short time.

Below is a video of a dolphin we saw in class this month.


Being in the ocean is a liberating activity. When I swim to the middle of the ocean I feel like I've reached a part of the world that's untouched, that no one ever thought I could, that's Mine. It's a surreal feeling.

Below is video of the rest of October. I participated in my first beach clean-up, attended an NSE excursion in Water Island, and spent quality time on campus.

'Feelin' good, feelin' free When I can finally get away'


One could not forget Halloween. I had a fun time. I decided to answer my true calling and go as Raven from Teen Titans. Below is a picture of me and another USC student on exchange I met here in St. Thomas. Her name is Savannah. She is graduating next semester.

And finally, on November 1st, all the jack o lanterns had reached the end of their journey, except 1.

"And don't you know that sunshine don't feel right When you inside all day/I wish it was nice out, but it looked like rain Gray skies and I'm drifting, not living forever They told me it only gets better"

This completes the October/September remainder recap. I apologize again for being absent. Navigating new waters can be difficult, draining, disorienting. I lost my voice. I am here finding it again.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page