top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Veal

Vol. 3 Track 1 - "Adventure of a Lifetime"

Updated: Sep 27, 2022

Junior year. Round 3 of this journey we call college. I am filled with mixed emotions about having the opportunity to be apart of the National Student Exchange program studying in St. Thomas, USVI. Besides overwhelming gratefulness, I am filled with optimism, and curiosity with a hint of timidness. I am nearly finished packing, even though what is pictured is only 1 out of 4 of my total bags traveling.


With that being said, making it through the airport will be our first goal of this journey we are taking over the course of the upcoming school year.

Will Carley's bags be overweight? Or has she mastered the art of evenly distributing weight between bags? ....Comment below -->

Notice each blog post here will have a track number (number of blog post), volume (3 series of college years), and a song that I believe describes the post coming ahead. [Big music head here]


Before we hit the ground running soon, I will give a quick overview what led us here.


Prologue

Or, why did I choose The University of The Virgin Islands? I wanted to transfer from my home school, University of South Carolina. I felt no sense of belonging at my home school, especially as a Black student at a previously white institution (PWI). However, financially and for the sake of my degree plan, transferring was made difficult. Thus the NSE program was born. Searching for HBCU's primarily, who could overlook the one that is "Historically American, Uniquely Caribbean, and Globally Interactive"

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page