top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarley Veal

Vol. 3 Track 5 - "Vibe Out"

Updated: Sep 27, 2022

How I managed to make it to 2 new islands in 1 week is still unreal to me. Although I am still recovering from my brother coming to visit, :( , lets get into the week.


My brother came to visit this past weekend and stayed at the same hotel my parents stayed at when they came to drop me off. When he arrived I took a short walk from UVI to Emerald Beach Hotel. The first picture is us having a drink the first day he arrived. I am so grateful I had the chance to take him to St. John during his stay here in St. Thomas. We went to Maho Beach, Magens Bay, Havensight, and had a wonderful time. I even got the opportunity to introduce him to some of my friends here; NSE students and local students.

"I'ma vibe out today" - Tems, "Vibe Out"

The following pictures are from our trip to Magens Bay. We got a full size pizza for lunch! It was great.


For the evening, we went to Havensight. In Havensight, we took Frank to our favorite spots. Frank got to try the patty melt at Tap and Still, which is what I've been raving about. Unfortunately I did not get to take him to see Chicken and Bowling, which is my favorite place in Havensight.




St. John and Maho Bay

My favorite part of this blog post, the St. John pictures <3 The first picture is of my brother, Frank, standing in Frank Bay, St. John! I was reading the map on the ferry ride and I instantly knew our first stop. The third picture is of a wild donkey right outside Maho Bay. Wild donkeys have been around here since the 1600's. When slavery was abolished, the donkeys from the plantations were set free. However, their descendants can still be found limin' in the Virgin Islands.


Limin' = taking it easy

The middle row is pictures from Mongoose Junction, a colorful local story located around the corner from the Ferry Dock.

The last 2 pictures are the view from the ferry in the morning compared to afternoon. A beautiful day and a beautiful sunset.



Water Island

Later this week, our NSE advisor took us on a special trip to Water Island where we had the experience of a lifetime.


We got the chance to visit an... outdoor palace? I am not really sure what to call this place. There were cottages, a yoga deck, trails, it was a bed and breakfast but like zen centered? We were in awe. We painted rocks, leaves, and cooked a traditional Caribbean meal- Caribbean curry (seen in the first picture of the second row). However- my very favorite part of the day was watching that cute little turtle tongue eat carrots out of my hand!! Even though he did nibble my finger a little, all is forgiven. 🥹🥹🥹🥹


The last picture of the first row was at Honeymoon Beach, Water Island. I was able to put my hammock up, bug-free, finally!

🥹🥹🥹🥹

"If I continue, my ice might break / If I was silеnt, I'll go insane / If I was just lost, then my life would bе yours" - Tems, "Vibe Out"
9 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page